Protecting Yourself While Driving in Arkansas
Whether you live in Little Rock or Fayetteville, having adequate protection while on the roads in Arkansas is a must. Not only is insurance required by state law, it's the best way to keep your vehicle safe. Even if premiums seem expensive to you, just think about how much you'd end up paying for auto repairs without protection. Even minor body work repairs can cost you thousands of dollars, so why put yourself at risk driving uninsured? If you're a resident of Arkansas, you need to read this informative state guide!
Requirements Every Driver Should Meet
Before you can even register your vehicle or get a title, you'll need to make sure you have an auto policy. Proof of your policy is typically required when registering your vehicle at the state's Office of Motor Vehicles. You'll also need it if you're ever pulled over by a police officer. Here's a look at the state's minimum requirements:
Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage
$25,000 per person for bodily injury in any single accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any single accident.
Minimum Property Damage Coverage
$25,000 for destruction of others property in any single accident.
Recommendations that Bring Peace of Mind
For many people, their only concern is meeting the minimum requirements. However, maintaining only the bare minimum level is simply inadequate for most drivers. While it will cost you more money, having collision and comprehensive add-ons provides you with the peace of mind that you'll be taken care of in the case of an accident. Every expert would recommend that you at least maintain collision coverage on your vehicle, even if it means having a high deductible.
Failure to Maintain Your Policy
As you may know, state law requires that you have proof of insurance on you whenever driving. In most cases, you should simply keep it in your vehicle's glove compartment and only pull it out when necessary. If you're ever pulled over or get into an accident without a plan, you could face fines and penalties from law enforcement. Second or third time offenders could even have their license or registration suspended if they are caught without insurance.
Fortunately for residents, rates are fairly affordable compared to other states in the country. Currently, Arkansas is approximately the 35th least expensive state to insure your vehicle in. The average yearly cost for a policy is about $685, although that includes collision and comprehensive coverage. If you're interested in only maintaining the minimum liability protection, the average cost is slightly under $400 a year. Either way, drivers can be thankful their rates don't even come close to those in other states, such as New York, where premiums can easily reach over $1,000 a year.
and Statistics in