Minimum Coverage Information for Connecticut Motorists
For the last several years, Connecticut has ranked in the ten most expensive states in the United State to insure a vehicle. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the average expenditure for auto coverage in Connecticut was $981 per year, making it the 10th most expensive state for coverage in the country. Part of the reason Connecticut's average policy rates are so high is because its residents tend to drive newer vehicles and are thus more likely to carry full protection. Of course, this is more expensive, which drives up the average expenditure in the state. As if high rates weren't enough to contend with, the state also has unique laws that require drivers to carry quite a bit of protection. Read on to learn more about local regulations and how to structure a policy.
Mandatory State Minimums
Like most states, The Constitution State requires drivers to purchase certain amounts of liability protection. The minimum liability requirements are 20/40/10. This means drivers must carry a minimum of $20,000 for a single-person injury, $40,000 for injuries to two or more people, and $10,000 for accident-related property damage. Connecticut is also one of only a handful of states that requires drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured driver coverage. This pays for your and your passengers' injuries in the event you are hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver. In this state, drivers must carry a minimum of $20,000 per person uninsured motorist coverage and $40,000 for all people involved in a collision.
Breakdown of Costs
Connecticut is one of the priciest states for auto policies partially because it is considered a tort state, which means it requires drivers to pay for the damages that result from the accidents they cause. This area's rates may also be due to higher traffic density and per capita income. In 2003, the average resident paid $611.45 for vehicle liability, $339.32 for collision protection, and $137.04 for comprehensive coverage. Remember that you do not need to include collision and comprehensive in your car policy if your car doesn't have much cash value.
Where to Go for Help
The Connecticut Insurance Department has a division devoted to the regulation of the industry. The department provides general information to residents on how to select a plan, file a claim, and comply with state laws. In addition, the entity also investigates complaints against car insurers. For more information about the state's minimum requirements or the insurers licensed to do business in the area, contact the insurance department via telephone or email.
and Statistics in