How to Stay Legal on the Streets of the Aloha State
When you are shopping for a car insurance policy it is best to know the rules and regulations of the state in which you will be driving. These rules and regulations are different from state-to-state. One thing that is for sure is that no matter what state you are in you are going to need some kind of automobile protection plan. The difference will come into play in regards to the type of protection you will need, the documentation needed and the penalties for not complying with the rules and regulations put in place.
Hawaii's Laws and Minimum Requirements
- Hawaii is what is called a "no-fault" state. This means that if you are your passengers are injured your provider will pay the amount that you choose. This amount is in your policy under the title personal injury coverage.
- There is a minimum amount you must get for personal injury and damage liability coverage. This minimum is $10,000 per person for personal injury, $20,000 per person for damage liability, $40,000 per accident with bodily injury for damage liability and $10,000 per property damage for damage liability.
- Hawaii doesn't require that you have uninsured motorist coverage however this add-on could be beneficial if you were to get into an accident where the person at fault doesn't have car insurance. You want to make sure you and your property is covered in all cases. You also want to be covered in the case someone else was injured in the car accident and comes after you for monetary payment.
- You are required to have the minimum legal limits there is. It is illegal to drive around Hawaii without adequate protection. If you do drive around without insurance it could lead up to heavy penalties and maybe even imprisonment. You will also have to turn in your cars license plates and registration information until you obtain the aforementioned minimum requirements. This would be a big penalty if you were unable to drive your car but still have to pay on the auto loan.
You are also required to carry proof of protection in your car at all times. If you are pulled over and don't have proof of your car insurance, you could also get fined and have to turn in your license plates and car registration until you show proof of your current auto policy.
and Statistics in