Things to Consider When Driving in Kentucky
If you want to own or operate an automobile in the state of Kentucky, you will have to own auto insurance. Kentucky is a no-fault state, and requires that you purchase both liability and no-fault protection. Failure to purchase enough protection could result in fines, and could also lead to the loss of your license and registration.
Liability Limits to Know
In Kentucky, you will want to make sure that you have enough liability coverage to meet the minimum requirements. These include:
- $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person, and up to $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident. Bodily injury liability will pay for the costs associated with physical injury to passengers or anybody else involved in an accident. It will not cover you or anybody else that is on your policy (if you wish to be covered for that, you need to purchase a policy that includes personal injury protection). Because a major accident could result in costs that are above this amount, you may wish to be better protected in this area, especially if you have money or assets that someone could obtain in a lawsuit.
- $10,000 for property damage liability. If you hit another vehicle, and cause damage to it, this will pay for damages. Property damage liability also would pay for damages to property that you hit, like a fence or telephone pole. $10,000 is the minimum amount of liability protection that you must purchase. Since many automobiles are worth more than that, you may wish to get more protection, in case you get into an accident with a new vehicle and you total the car.
Who is at Fault?
No-fault coverage will provide up to $10,000 in compensation if someone is injured and has medical expenses, loss of wages, or has to have replacement services. This will pay no matter who is at fault for the accident. No-fault limits the right of the driver to sue the person who is at fault in the event of an accident. You can choose to opt to avoid no-fault coverage if you want to maintain your right to sue. If you wish to avoid the no-fault add-on, you will need to contact your insurer or the Kentucky Office of Insurance.
Necessary Proof of a Policy
The Kentucky Office of Insurance requires that they report auto insurance electronically. However, they don't have to report when you cancel or fail to renew your policy. You will still have to carry your insurance card while you operate your vehicle. When you renew your registration or transfer your car or truck, you will also need to provide proof that you are insured. You can be fined and have your license revoked if you do not have proof of a policy.
Other Things to Consider
Although Kentucky does not require any other type of motor vehicle insurance, you may want to opt for additional products for added peace of mind. If you have an automobile loan, your lender will probably require that you have more protection. The most common types of optional automobile coverage are collision and comprehensive. Collision will pay for the costs necessary to repair your vehicle in case you get into an accident, or will give you enough money to replace your car or truck if you total it in a collision. It will not pay for the amount you still owe on your loan, that is covered by a gap plan. Comprehensive will cover your vehicle in the event of theft, fire, flooding, or other damage that can happen to your automobile while you are not driving it. If you have a paid-for vehicle that does not have a lot of value any more, you may not need to have this optional plan. If your car is newer, you probably will want to get this coverage.
and Statistics in