How to Protect Yourself Adequately on the Roads in Louisiana
As with every state, car insurance is a required aspect of operating a vehicle in Louisiana. It is recommended that you take the time to choose the correct policy that you will need. You will also want to make sure you are up on the minimum coverage that is required by the state you will be driving in. In some cases this protection will be enough to completely cover you and your car. However, sometimes the standards required in your jurisdiction may not offer the protection you need. Therefore, it is very important to make sure you have the type of auto policy that meets your state's requirements as well as an amount that will sufficiently protect you in the case of an accident.
Be Aware of Your Local Rules and Regulations
Every state has a different standards you need to adhere to. What was the requirement in one area may not be the same as what it is in another. Therefore, you should familiarize yourself with the minimum levels and if you move to another region, you should be sure that you meet that state's minimum levels. These requirements can include anything from the amount of protection you are required to have, the type of documentation you must keep in your vehicle at all times and even the way your provider reports your type of policy.
Louisiana has very strict rules in regards to drivers and their vehicle policies. There are also very severe consequences set in place for drivers who do not comply with the rules. Alongside the demands of meeting their standards, drivers are also required to immediately report any change in your policy to the appropriate agency. To show that you are in compliance with the state's laws, you may be randomly pulled over by an officer and asked to show proof of your coverage. You will also be asked for your proof of vehicle insurance verification when you go to register or car or renew your driver's license.
Louisiana requires you to have liability protection of $15,000 or more per person, $30,000 or more per accident and $25,000 or more for property damage coverage. The penalties for not complying with these rules or not having the proof to show you are in compliance could include very hefty fines, suspension of your car registration or drivers license and penalties which could include jail time depending on the situation. The officials will sometimes offer you a time lapse to give them proof you are in compliance. If you don't provide proof in this time you will then be penalized accordingly.
If you were to cancel your plan, your insurer is required to immediately notify the insurance authorities in Louisiana of these changes so that they can report them accordingly. Therefore, if you fall beneath the aforementioned required coverage amount you will not be able to secure future registration or drivers license until you do.
and Statistics in