Meeting the Legal Insurance Requirements in Massachusetts
If you have a car in Massachusetts, you're going to want to get car insurance. Specifically, liability coverage is required by law in the state. The only way to prove financial responsibility is to obtain at least the minimum amount of protection that is required from a provider that is authorized to operate in Massachusetts. You are required to get liability protection to cover bodily injury, personal injury protection, bodily injury for an uninsured automobile, and damage that you cause to someone else's property. Using a reliable source to compare multiple quotes at the same time can make it easier to get the best plan.
The Importance of Bodily Injury Protection
In Massachusetts, you are required to obtain a minimum of $20,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, or $40,000 for an accident. You will need to obtain this protection for damage that you cause, and for damage that is caused to you by an uninsured automobile. This will pay in the event that you are in an accident and someone is physically injured or dies as a result.
Personal Injury Protection
You will need to get at least $8,000 in personal injury protection. This will cover you, your passengers, pedestrians that run out into the street, or anybody that is allowed to drive your vehicle. It will pay for any health care costs that are incurred after an accident, without taking fault into consideration. It will also pay for funerals, lost wages, and costs that are incurred as a result of rehabilitation.
Damage to Someone Else's Property
You will need to get a minimum of $5,000 in property damage protection in Massachusetts. This will kick in if you are involved in an accident and are found to have damaged another person's property. It also contributes to repairs to property that your car damages.
You may want to get more than the minimum amount that the state requires. If you are found to be at fault for totaling someone's brand-new SUV, $5,000 in property damage just won't cut it. Similarly, if you get into a major accident and the person that you hit has to be airlifted to the hospital, it will probably cost more than $20,000. If you have a home or other assets that someone can sue for, you should especially consider getting more coverage.
Policy Add-ons You Should Consider
Many people opt for collision and comprehensive coverage, in addition to the required types. Collision insurance will cover damage to your vehicle if you hit another car, a tree, or objects that fall into the middle of the road. Comprehensive will go towards any damages to your car that isn't caused by an accident. If your car catches on fire, is vandalized, or has a tree fall on it, you'd be covered by this type of protection. If you have a newer vehicle, you will probably want to get these types of coverage. If you are financing your vehicle, your lender will probably require that you get this coverage.
Penalties for Not Having Insurance
When you get a policy, you will want to get a proof of insurance card from your insurer. Although you do not have to carry it with you in the state, if you drive outside of the state, you will have to abide by the other state's laws, which usually require you to have proof of your policy with you. If you do not maintain a policy, you will not be able to register your car. The Department of Motor Vehicles also might make you pay fines and penalties, and could choose to suspend your car's registration. Because the insurance companies notify the state when you are not insured, if you let your plan lapse, you may end up getting a notice from the state.
and Statistics in