Meeting Maryland's Vehicle Insurance Requirements
There are rules and regulations, guidelines and requirements when it comes to auto insurance coverage. It can get a bit confusing because every state has its own set of minimum coverage requirements. One thing every state does have in common is that they require some form of protection on the roads. Wherever you will be driving it is imperative that you find out that states auto coverage minimum. You can find this out through your insurance company representative. They are usually very knowledgeable of every state's coverage minimums.
Maryland has some pretty stringent rules when it comes to insuring your vehicle. They stay on top of these rules regularly and are always checking to make sure those that are driving are adhering to their standards put in place. In many other areas, drivers are only required to have a minimum of liability coverage. However, drivers are required to have liability as well as personal injury protection and uninsured motorist protection. This is an understandable requirement being that the region is filled with cities that are considered to be the most congested.
Making Sure You Meet the Standards
The minimum requirements for liability required are $20,000 for bodily injury per person, $40,000 for bodily injury per accident and $15,000 per accident for property damage. There is also uninsured motorists coverage required by Maryland. This is so that if you were to get into an accident with a driver that is uninsured you are still covered. Not only will you be covered but any damage to your vehicle will be covered as well. The minimum on this coverage required by Maryland is $20,000 for an injury resulting from the accident with $40,000 maximum cap and $15,000 for property damage resulting from the car accident.
The final requirement that should be included in your auto policy is personal injury protection. This protects you from the expenses incurred should you become involved in an accident that keeps you from working. When you have this add-on included in your policy, your provider will pay you a monthly amount up to the maximum amount you choose should you become involved in a car accident and are unable to work. Maryland requires that you have at least $2,500 worth of coverage in this area.
Now that you know the minimum requirements you can choose the plan that is right for you and your situation. You want to be sure you have all the coverage you need before you start driving in the case something unexpected happens. There is nothing like knowing you are covered against uncertainty while driving. You will also feel better about knowing that you aren't driving against the law in the state. And in the case you are pulled over by the police you will be able to show proof of coverage.
and Statistics in