Staying Legal on the Roads in Idaho

The rules and regulations concerning car insurance coverage are different in each state. It is best that you check with your states Department of Motor Vehicles for information on the amount of protection that is required. Once you get this information you can choose a more accurate auto policy that will be sufficient for the state you are going to be driving in. You can also consult with your auto insurance provider in regards to the minimum levels that are allowed in your state. Always remember that getting the bare minimum may not always be a good idea. Just as you would research what type of auto loan you are going to choose, vehicle protection is something you should put a lot of thought into before choosing a policy.

Meeting the Standards Put in Place

Idaho requires you to have liability protection at a minimum. This means you don't have to go with the biggest, most expensive plan to be considered legal. However, you should consider the fact that liability protection is considered the very least you can get and does not cover every aspect of damage should you get involved in an accident.

The state of Idaho also requires you to get uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in your policy. Therefore, you can have liability protection but if you don't have an uninsured/underinsured motorist add-on as well, you risk getting charged a fine. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage also protects you from any damage caused to your car by a motorist who didn't follow the sate of Idaho's rules and doesn't have insurance.

If you will be driving in the state of Idaho you must have proof that you have the required car policy. If you have met the policy requirements but don't have the proof with you in the car, you could be given a very costly traffic ticket.

There are minimum amounts you have to have included in your liability plan. You must have $50,000 per accident for bodily injury protection as well as $15,000 per accident for property damage. If you have all of the coverage required by the state of Idaho, you won't have a problem if you are to be involved in a car accident. However, if you don't' have the required insurance you could be cited, given a costly ticket and maybe even get your car impounded until you meet the basic requirements.

Browse Insurance
and Statistics in
[X] (click to close)